Top 4 Natural Shampoos for Curly Hair

Since I was debating what shampoo to try out next and I am kind of picky I thought I would do a post about my favorite shampoos that I have tried. My hair has been short and long and is thick and curly. Anyone who has curly hair knows how tangled and time consuming it can be to get knots out. Finding the right hair care products are important. Initially I used the Redken All Soft line because their products worked well in my hair. That was over 2 years ago, since then I have come to learn more about what ingredients are in the products I use and have been much more careful.

I try to stay away from anything with parabens and sulfates among other things. Im sure most of you looking at all natural products see that their aren’t any parabens and sulfates in the ingredients. Those two are the most common ingredients I see on labels. Parabens are included in many skincare, hair and and makeup products because it helps prevent the growth of microbes. Basically it makes it last longer, but at a cost. The use of parabens in these products has been linked to breast cancer and reproductive toxicity. I found this information on Campaign for Safe Cosmetics but one google search will give you all the information you need. Sulfates are really harsh cleaning agents that give soapy products that big lather and bubbles. I tend to steer clear of sulfates because they have a harmful effect on skin. Especially those with sensitive skin should watch out because it strips the skin and can make it irritated and dry. I don’t want sulfates in my shampoo, dry hair equals frizz especially in the summertime. I have read reviews of people upset that their sulfate free shampoo doesn’t have enough lather. Well, that’s because it’s not stripping the hair of essential oils and moisture. I know we all want our hair to feel clean and not be greasy. I have found and listed the following shampoos that I have used myself and lather fairly well even though they are without the bad stuff.

One of the first shampoos I tried was Carol’s Daughter Monoi Repairing Shampoo

Monoi_ReparingShampoo8.5oz

This is $20 a bottle so it is fairly expensive depending on how much hair you have and how frequently you wash your hair. Personally I love the smell and conditioning of this product for really dry hair. But I definitely don’t feel as clean and I think this line is best with conditioners.

The next shampoo I used is DevaCurl No Poo Cleanse

devacurl_nopoo_cleanser_900x900_2

This is $19 a bottle, has a hilarious name and it works really well without all the “poo” that other shampoos have. It has peppermint oil in it so it is really refreshing in the shower and is nice on the scalp. My hair feels clean when using this shampoo without being too dry.

Acure Organics Argan Oil Shampoo

acure_moroccanarganoil_shampoo_900x900

This shampoo is much more affordable at $9.99 a bottle and smells amazing, but only if you like almonds. It does come in two other scents but this one is awesome! Argan oil is really great and has omega fatty acids that help moisturize and strengthen hair. When I used this shampoo my hair smells great and felt clean and not greasy at all.

My newest shampoo is from Alba Botanica and is the Natural Hawaiian Shampoo in Gardenia.

Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 8.56.53 PM

This is the most affordable shampoo on sale from Vitacost right now for $6.61. I decided to get this because at Whole Foods I decided to smell it and wow fantastic! When I was little we had Gardenias in our backyard and I love the smell. It is hard to find a great Gardenia scent but I really like this one. Sadly the scent doesn’t last long after washing my hair but while in the shower it smells good. The ingredients for this shampoo are all natural and have good things like macadamia seed oil and aloe in it. Im not going to pass official judgement yet because I just started using it and I basically bought it because I loved the smell so much.

So for now those are the more natural shampoos I have been using and liked with my hair. These are my honest opinions as I have tried all of these and am always in search of a great product. Feel free to agree, disagree, volunteer something new for me to try. I would like to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

