July Birchbox: Power Play

IMG_1159

Birchbox was one of the first beauty boxes I started subscribing to. For $10 a month it is a great way to discover new products. Sure the sample sizes are sometimes ridiculously tiny, but other times I find something I really really enjoy and buy more of. This month I would say is one of the not so hot months for Birchbox. It seemed like the men’s box was better in my opinion. Even though both boxes included “Suits picks” the men’s box was more fitting than the women’s. That being said I still received some items that I am really enjoying sampling.

IMG_1157  IMG_1158

IMG_1161IMG_1160

I got my box way later than usual this month and so I totally peeked at what I was getting! I just couldn’t resist and when I saw I was getting the Benefit samples I was so excited. I have been wanting to try Benefits skincare line for a while.

IMG_1178

Benefit Triple Performing Cleanser, Total Moisture Moisturizer,It’s Potent! Eye Cream

Benefit always has nice packaging and this little sample pack was no exception. I just wish the sizes were bigger! I hope I can get a few uses out of this to see if it works well on my skin. I have tried the eye cream before and I liked it.

IMG_1177

Birchbox Bobby Pins

Loving these! So cute and versatile. I wear a lot of blues and greens so these will work well with a lot of outfits. I also recently cut my hair short so I like using pins to get my hair out of my face. I think Im going to get more.

IMG_1176

Pur Minerals CC Cream in Medium

Dr. Jart Ceramidin Cream

I currently use Supergoop’s CC cream but this one was nice! I prefer lighter formulas in the summer because I don’t want to feel smothered and gross out in the heat. This CC cream is definitely not something I would wear right now, but when it cools off I would use this. It has much more coverage and a thicker consistency than other bb and cc creams I have tried. I think this is a great alternative to foundation because it does the same job while also  protecting your skin with a wopping 40 SPF. I have been using the Ceramidin cream this week and so far I think my skin looks the same. I do like it as a moisturizer and I would consider getting it in the future. One thing I will add is that it doesn’t have a weird smell! With a name like Ceramidin I wasn’t so sure about what this cream would smell like. So if your curious, it doesn’t smell bad!

IMG_1179

Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper

I wasn’t so excited when I first saw this product. But then I read the description on Birchbox’s site and it changed my mind. This product is like a gel to help enhance curls but without that awful crunchiness that most gels will give your curls. I have naturally curly hair that can get frizzy in the summer. The curl keeper is meant to be used on slightly damp hair. For me this sounds pretty awesome. Since I don’t wash my hair everyday I can just dampened my hair and use this product to get it back in shape and control the frizz.

This wasn’t one of the best Birchbox’s as far as sample sizes, but the product selection was a win for me. I have been using all of the products I received since getting my box on Saturday. I think that the bobby pins for my hair are probably my favorite. Im posting a separate post to show you all some photos!

3 thoughts on “July Birchbox: Power Play

Leave a Reply

