Jungle Stand- Taiwan Style

IMG_1105

Last month the Jungle Stand theme was Welcome to Taiwan and sent a box of treats from Taiwan. I enjoyed almost all of these, my only exception was the squid. I just wasn’t brave and daring enough to try that stuff! For anyone who doesn’t know the Jungle Stand is a tasting box. Every month a  box is sent with a new theme and new “tastes” to try. It’s only $9.92 a month! Even though I put my subscription on hold for a while it’s not because of the box it’s because I am a box junkie and need to cut down. I love trying new things and this box is a great way to do that. They have done a great job of capturing a wide range of tastes from sweet to salty to far far out there (dried squid!). Now on to what was featured this month.

IMG_0996

This is the yellow box it comes in every month

IMG_0994  IMG_0995

Each month you receive a wacky and fun card informing you of that month’s theme and on the back is details and pictures of what’s inside the box.

IMG_1111

This is a sesame pastry and it is really deceiving. At first glance it looks like it would be a hard cookie, but it’s not. The outer shell is light and crisp and covered in sesame seeds. The inside is soft and full of sweet goodness. I really liked this one!

IMG_1110

This is the pumpkin cake, don’t let the name fool you! This is not like a cake at all, but this was also very tasty. I don’t think it even tasted very much like pumpkin either. This as with the sesame pastry had a very unique texture to it. All the pieces of the cake mixed with bits of seaweed made for a very interesting treat.

IMG_1109

The peanut brittle was as expected somewhat hard to bite into, very peanutty and sweet.

IMG_1108

I received more of these rice crackers, but I ate them before I took the picture. I love rice crackers! I get them all the time, especially the ones with seaweed wrapped around them. This was your basic rice cracker nothing out of the ordinary but still yummy.

I realize now that I am missing individual pictures of the squid and the sachima. So I’ll just give a little information about them here. The dried squid was VERY stinky, very fishy! This is coming from someone who loves seafood and sushi especially. Alas it was so awful I just couldn’t bring myself to try it. When I threw it in the trash it even smelled up the trash can it was so bad! The sachima on the other hand was really good! It looks like a sort of rice crispy cake, but it was way better. The consistency was soft and fluffy but also had all these pieces stuck together like a rice krispy treat. It was sweet and light and I wanted more.

I enjoyed this box very much. It is hard for me to find food from Taiwan and I loved trying the different pastries (except the dreaded squid). This box is all about different flavors and textures, trying new things. For me this box was about textures. Everything I tried had a different texture to it that enhanced the flavors of what I was eating. My only wish is that The Jungle Stand would tell me where they got these treats so I could go get some more!

I have to know, anyone who got this box, did you try the squid? If so you are so so brave.

One thought on “Jungle Stand- Taiwan Style

Leave a Reply

