Roasted Sweet Potatoes, Butternut Squash, Carrots and Apples for Baby

Since I have been experimenting with different recipes for homemade baby food I thought I would share the one I made this week for my daughter. I really like easy recipes since as a busy mom I don’t have much time to make a bunch of different meals. This recipe is fantastic for us because I can roast the vegetables for me and mash them up for my little girl. It is also really easy to prepare especially if you buy pre cut/diced packages at the store, then all you do is toss it in the oven.

Roasted Sweet Potatoes, Butternut Squash, Carrots and Apples

3 tablespoons of vegetable or coconut oil

1/2 pound butternut squash, peeled and chopped

1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped

2 carrots, peeled and sliced

1/4 to 1/2 cup applesauce

*for babies you can buy a normal jar for adults, it’s cheaper just make sure you look at the ingredients mine only has apples and water or make your own!

optional: cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Put all of the vegetables in a bowl and coat with oil of choice, put in the oven for 30-45 minutes or until nice and soft.

Once they have time to cool a little maybe 5 minutes put in a food processor or blender with applesauce and spices (if using) and puree to desired consistency.

If your baby can eat more solid food than you could always just add the spices and let them eat the cooked pieces.

*Another great tool for mashing baby food is a muddler! If you have one at home this makes baby food a lot easier to make. Before I found out about this I just used a fork, and it took much longer than a muddler.

Leave a Reply

